Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 6

Tuesday, December 10, 2002

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 3:59 p.m. this day, in Room 208, West Block, the Chair, Joe Comuzzi, presiding.

Member(s) of the Committee present:  Joe Comuzzi, Bev Desjarlais, Roger Gallaway, André Harvey, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Mario Laframboise, James Moore, Marcel Proulx, Raymond Simard, Lynne Yelich.

Acting Member(s) present: Paul Steckle for Alex Shepherd.

In attendance:  From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament:  John Christopher, Principal Analyst.

Witness(es): From the Tourism Industry Association of Canada: Randy M. Williams, President and CEO. From the Association of Canadian Travel Agencies: Martin Taller, Director. From the Air Line Pilots Association International: Dan Adamus, Vice President, Canada Board; Art LaFlamme, Senior Representative. From the Department of Finance: Stephen Richardson, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Tax Policy Branch; Serge Dupont, General Director, Tax Policy Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its study of Aviation Security Fees.

Mr. R.M. Williams made an opening statement and answered questions.

Stan Keyes moved, - That the Standing Committee on Transport strike a subcommittee to study the Marine Transportation and that the subcommittee be chaired by Roger Gallaway, M.P. for Sarnia Lambton.

After debate, the motion was agreed to, by a show of hands.

Mr. Martin Taylor made an opening statement and answered questions.

Mr. Dan Adamus made an opening statement and, with Mr. LaFlamme, answered questions.

At 5:17 p.m. Mr. Richardson made an opening statement and, with Mr. Dupont, answered questions.

At 6:39 p.m., the Committee met, in Camera, to consider its future business.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed, - That the Committee met tomorrow afternoon, Wednesday, December 11, 2002, at 3:30 p.m., to consider its future business.

At 6:53 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Georges Etoka

Clerk(s) of the Committee