Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 31

Monday, June 2, 2003

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 3:36 p.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Chair, Joe Comuzzi, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Joe Comuzzi, Roger Gallaway, Jim Gouk, Stan Keyes, Mario Laframboise, James Moore, Marcel Proulx and Lynne Yelich.

Acting Members present: Sarkis Assadourian for Pat O’Brien and Dick Proctor for Bev Desjarlais.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament:  John Christopher, Principal Analyst.

Witnesses: From the Saskatchewan Highways and Transportation: Hon. Mark Wartman, Minister, Highways and Transportation; Harvey Brooks, Deputy Minister, Highways and Transportation.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, March 25, 2003, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-26, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act and the Railway Safety Act, to enact the VIA Rail Canada Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, April 10, 2003, Meeting No. 20).

The Hon. Wartman made an opening statement and, with Harvey Brooks, answered questions.

At 5:25 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Georges Etoka

Clerk of the Committee