Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 25

Monday, May 5, 2003

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Joe Comuzzi, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Joe Comuzzi, Roger Gallaway, Jim Gouk, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, James Moore and Marcel Proulx.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament:  John Christopher, Principal Analyst.

Witnesses: From the Air Transport Association of Canada: J. Clifford Mackay, President; Warren Everson, Vice-President, Policy. From the Air Line Pilots Association International: Capt Dan Adamus, Vice-President, Canada Board; Art LaFlamme, Senior Representative, Canada.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, March 25, 2003, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-26, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act and the Railway Safety Act, to enact the VIA Rail Canada Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, April 10, 2003, Meeting No. 20).

Clifford MacKay and Warren Everson made opening statements and answered questions.

At 4:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:27 p.m., the sitting resumed.

At 5:07 p.m., Stan Keyes assumed the Chair.

Capt. Dan Adamus made an opening statement and, with Art LaFlamme answered questions.

At 5:15 p.m., Joe Comuzzi assumed the Chair.

At 5:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Georges Etoka

Clerk of the Committee