Skip to main content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 17

Thursday, April 3, 2003

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 8:36 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Joe Comuzzi, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Larry Bagnell, John Cannis, Joe Comuzzi, Bev Desjarlais, Roger Gallaway, Jim Gouk, Stan Keyes, Mario Laframboise, James Moore, Marcel Proulx and Lynne Yelich.

Acting Members present: Joe Fontana for Liza Frulla and Val Meredith for Lynne Yelich.

Other Members present: Geoff Reagan and Peter Stoffer.

In attendance:  From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament:  John Christopher and June Dewetering, Principal Analysts.

Appearing: From the House of Commons: Hon. David Collenette, Minister of Transport.

Witnesses: From the Department of Transport: Louis Ranger, Deputy Minister of Transport, Transport Canada; Jacques Pigeon, Senior General Counsel and Head, Department of Justice; Kristine Burr, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy Group. From the CAW - Canada (International Automobile, Aerospace, Transportation and General Workers Union of Canada): Basil "Buzz" Hargrove, National President; Gary Fane, Director of Transportation; Anne Davidson, President, Local 2002 (Airline Division). From Air Canada: Stephen P. Markey, Vice-President, Government Relations and Regulatory Affairs; Fred Gaspar, Manager, Government Relations. From West Jet: Clive Beddoe, President and Chief Executive Officer. From Air Canada Pilots Association: Donald K. Johnson, President; Capt Jean-Marc Bélanger, Special Advisor; Paul Middleton, Director, Labour Relations; Bob Parnell, Chair, Negociating Committee.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), Examination of the viability of the Airline Industry in Canada.

Minister David Collenette made a statement and, with Louis Ranger, answered questions.

Basil Hargrove and Anne Davidson made a statement and answered questions.

At 11:06 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:14 a.m., the sitting resumed.

It was agreed, - That the Air Canada’s brief be distributed to Members, notwithstanding a routine motion requiring that documents to be distributed should be in both official languages.

Stephen Markey made a statement and, with Fred Gaspar, answered questions.

It was agreed, - That the Superintendent of Financial Institutions be invited to appear before the Committee from 2:00 p.m. to 2:15 p.m. to give testimony with respect to this study.

At 12:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:53 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Clive Beddoe made a statement and answered questions.

Jean-Marc Bélanger and Donald K. Johnson made opening statements and answered questions.

At 2:14 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.



Georges Etoka

Clerk of the Committee