Skip to main content
Start of content

OGGO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 28

Thursday, March 27, 2003

The Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates met at 10:48 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Reg Alcock, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Reg Alcock, Carolyn Bennett, Roy Cullen, Paul Forseth, Robert Lanctôt, Gerry Ritz, Paul Szabo and Tony Tirabassi.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament:  Jack Stilborn, Analyst.

Witnesses: From the Public Service Commission of Canada: Scott Serson, President; Gaston Arseneault, General Counsel. From the Privy Council Office: Alex Himelfarb, Clerk; Monique Boudrias, Assistant Deputy Minister, Task Force on Modernizing Human Resources Management in the Public Service.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Thursday, February 20, 2003, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-25, An Act to modernize employment and labour relations in the public service and to amend the Financial Administration Act and the Canadian Centre for Management Development Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, February 27, 2003, Meeting No. 12).

Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1) consideration of Clause 1 was postponed.

The Vice-Chair called Clause 2.

Scott Serson made an opening statement and with Gaston Arseneault, answered questions.

Alex Himelfarb made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 1:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Miriam Burke

Clerk of the Committee