Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 60

Thursday, June 12, 2003

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 9:06 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Hon. Andy Scott, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Chuck Cadman, Marlene Jennings, John Maloney, John McKay, Pat O'Brien, Joe Peschisolido, Hon. Andy Scott, Kevin Sorenson.

Acting Members present: Randy White for Garry Breitkreuz, Réal Ménard for Robert Lanctôt.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Philip Rosen, senior analyst, Robin MacKay, analyst.

Witnesses: From the Government of Alberta: Irv Yaverbaum, Department of Justice; Kathy Collins, Solicitor General Department. From the Government of Manitoba: Jeffrey Schnoor, Executive Director, Policy Development and Analysis Division, Department of Justice. From the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police: Vincent Westwick, Chair, Law Amendments Committee; Peter Cuthbert, Executive Director.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Friday, April 4, 2003, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-23, An Act respecting the registration of information relating to sex offenders, to amend the Criminal Code and to make consequential amendments to other Acts (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, May 29, 2003, Meeting No. 50).

The witnesses made a statement and answered questions.

At 11:08 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Patrice Martin




Clerk of the Committee