Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 41

Tuesday, May 6, 2003

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 9:00 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Hon. Andy Scott, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Chuck Cadman, L'hon. Hedy Fry, Derek Lee, Paul Harold Macklin, John Maloney, Richard Marceau, John McKay, Pat O'Brien, The Hon. Andy Scott.

Acting Member present: Svend Robinson for The Hon. Lorne Nystrom.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Philip Rosen, senior analyst, Kristen Douglas, analyst.

Witnesses: From Focus on the Family Canada Association: Derek Rogusky, Vice-president. From First United Church: Read Sherman. From REAL Women of Canada: Gwendolyn Landolt, National Vice-President. From the Vancouver Police Department: David Jones.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Thursday, October 24, 2002, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-250, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (hate propaganda) (See Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, February 25, 2003, Meeting No. 22).

The witnesses made a statement and answered questions.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed -- That the proposed operational budget of the Committee for its study on Bill C-250, in the amount of $9,600.00, be adopted and that the Chair present the said budget to the budget Sub-committee of the Liaison Committee.

At 11:00 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Patrice Martin




Clerk of the Committee