Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 40

Wednesday, April 30, 2003

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 9:06 a.m. this day, in Iqaluit, at the Frobisher Inn, in the Astro Hill Complex, the Chair, Hon. Andy Scott, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Garry Breitkreuz, Chuck Cadman, Marlene Jennings, Paul Harold Macklin, Richard Marceau, Hon. Andy Scott.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Philip Rosen, senior analyst.

Witnesses: From the Qulliit Nunavut Status of Women Council: Maureen Doherty. From the Qikiqtani Inuit Association: Amanda Ford; Kanayuk Salomonie. As Individual: James T. Arreak; Allison Brewer; Anna Brewer, Virginia Larsson; Prof. Bryon Doherty; Chris Grosset.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumes its study on marriage and the legal recognition of same-sex unions.

At 9:06 a.m., Maureen Doherty, Amanda Ford and Kanayuk Salomonie made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:05 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:10 a.m., the sitting resumed.

James T. Arreak, Allison Brewer and Anna Brewer made a statement and answered questions.

At 11:04 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:11 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Virginia Larsson, Bryon Doherty and Chris Grosset made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:12 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:06 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The following individuals made a brief statement: Chris Wilson; Gail Girard; Mark O'Keefe; Jason Carpenter; Steve Wood; Steven Bill; Wayne Moore; May Aupaloota; Natsiapik Naqlinanig; Elisapi Davidee; Enoapik Sageatok; Sean Doherty; Sky Aurora Wah-Shee.

At 3:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Patrice Martin




Clerk of the Committee