Skip to main content
Start of content

HEAL Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 20

Wednesday, February 12, 2003

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Bonnie Brown, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Bonnie Brown, Jeannot Castonguay, Brenda Chamberlain, The Hon. Hedy Fry, James Lunney, Réal Ménard, Rob Merrifield, Svend Robinson, Hélène Scherrer, Carol Skelton and Yolande Thibeault.

Acting Members present: Claude Duplain for Yolande Thibeault and Judy Longfield for Raymonde Folco.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Nancy Miller Chenier and Sonya Norris, Research Officers.

Witnesses: From the House of Commons: John McKay, Scarborough East. From the Department of Health: Marta Caris, Acting Director, Bureau of Pharmaceutical Assessment; Hélène Goulet, Director, Strategies and Systems for Health Directorate, Health Issues Division; Denis Choinière, Acting Coordinator, Regulatory and Compliance Program, Office of Tobacco Control.

The Order of Reference dated Thursday, November 28, 2002, being now read as follows:

ORDERED, -- That Bill C-260, “An Act to amend the Hazardous Products Act (fire-safe cigarettes)” was deemed read the second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Health.

The Chair called Clause 1.

John McKay, Hélène Goulet and Denis Choinière made statements and, with other witnesses, answered questions.

At 5:15 p.m. the sitting was suspended.

At 5:25 p.m. the Committee proceeded to sit in camera.

The Committee resumed consideration of matters related to its future business.

At 6:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


José Cadorette

Clerk of the Committee