Skip to main content
Start of content

HAFF Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 37

Thursday, May 1, 2003

The Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs met in televised session at 11:13 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Peter Adams, presiding.

Members of the Committee present:  Peter Adams, Rick Borotsik, Marlene Catterall, Rodger Cuzner, Michel Guimond, Dale Johnston, Lynn Myers, Geoff Regan, John Reynolds, Jacques Saada and Guy St-Julien.

Acting Members present:  Marcel Proulx for Joe Jordan; Mac Harb for Carolyn Parrish; Paddy Torsney for Carolyn Parrish (at 12:16 p.m.); Andy Savoy for Guy St-Julien (at 12:16 p.m.); Ted White for Werner Schmidt; Michel Gauthier for Benoît Sauvageau; Robert Lanctôt for Benoît Sauvageau (at 12:29 p.m.); Dick Proctor for Yvon Godin.

In attendance:  From the Library of Parliament:  James Robertson, Principal; John M. Wright, Research Assistant.

Witnesses:  From the Canadian Labour Congress:  Hassan Yussuff, Secretary-Treasurer; Murray Randall, Assistant to the Secretary-Treasurer.  From the Canadian Council of Chief Executives:  David Stewart-Patterson, Senior Vice-President, Policy and Communications.  From the Canadian Auto Workers Union:  Peggy Nash, Assistant to the President.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, March 18, 2003, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-24, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act and the Income Tax Act (political financing).  (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, April 3, 2003, Meeting No. 31.)

Ted White moved, - That Stephen LeDrew, President of the Liberal Party of Canada, be summoned to appear before the Committee to give evidence regarding Bill C‑24.

A debate arose.

By unanimous consent, it was ordered, - That the debate be adjourned until later in this sitting after the witnesses have been heard.

The Committee resumed consideration of Clause 1.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

At 12:35 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:38 p.m., the sitting resumed in non-televised session.

Pursuant to Order made earlier in this sitting, the Committee resumed consideration of the motion of Ted White, - That Stephen LeDrew, President of the Liberal Party of Canada, be summoned to appear before the Committee to give evidence regarding Bill C‑24.

By unanimous consent, Ted White withdrew the motion.

Ted White moved, - That the presidents of parties with seats in the House be summoned to appear before the Committee to give evidence regarding Bill C-24.

A debate arose.

Jacques Saada moved, - That the debate be now adjourned.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS:  Marlene Catterall, Rodger Cuzner, Lynn Myers, Marcel Proulx, Geoff Regan, Jacques Saada, Andy Savoy, Paddy Torsney     (8);  NAYS:  Rick Borotsik, Michel Guimond, Dale Johnston, Robert Lanctôt, Dick Proctor, John Reynolds, Ted White    (7).

The Committee considered its future business.

At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Thomas Hall

Clerk of the Committee