Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 97
Tuesday, November 4, 2003

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 8:03 a.m. this day, in the Acadia A-B-C- Room, Casino Nova Scotia Hotel, Halifax, Nova Scotia, the Chair, Sue Barnes, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Scott Brison, Rahim Jaffer, Shawn Murphy and Bryon Wilfert.


Acting Members present: Peter Stoffer for Judy Wasylycia-Leis.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Principal; Stephen Laurent, Analyst.


Witnesses: Council of Canadians with Disabilities: Marie White, National Chairperson; Mary Ennis, Vice Chairperson. Association of Nova Scotia University Teachers: Chris Ferns, Past-President. Nova Scotia Association of Health Organizations: Robert A. Cook, President and Chief Executive Officer; Helen Patriquin, Vice President. Metropolitain Halifax Chamber of Commerce: Valerie A. Payn, President; Allan Gates, Federal Affairs Committee Chair. Face of Poverty Consultation (The): Alasdair Sinclair, Professor Emeritus (Economics), Dalhousie University; Michael Bradfield, Professor of Economics, University of Dalhousie. Community Action on Homelessness: Angela Bishop, Community Liaison. Halifax Regional Municipality: Peter J. Kelly, Mayor; George McLellan, Chief Administrative Officer. Literacy Nova Scotia: Ann Marie Downie, Executive Director. Canadian Federation of Students: David Hare, Nova Scotia National Executive Representative. Federation of New Brunswick Faculty Associations: Desmond A. Morley, Executive Director. Society of St. Vincent de Paul: Michael Burke, National President and Director of Hope Cottage; George Leach, Outreach Worker at Hope Cottage. Antigonish Women's Resource Centre: Katherine Reed, Project Coordinator. Nova Scotia School Boards Association: Mary Jess MacDonald, President; Jeanne Doucette, First President. As Individual: Mary Boyd, Spokesperson, MacKillop Centre for Social Justice and PEI Alternative Provincial Budget Coalition. Raymond Wilde Chartered Accountants: Peter F. Wilde, Partner.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83(1), the Committee resumed its pre-budget consultations.

PANEL I: Mary Ennis, Chris Ferns, Robert A. Cook, Valerie A. Payn, Allan Gates, Michael Bradfield and Alasdair Sinclair made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 9:30 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:37 a.m., the sitting resumed.


PANEL II:Angela Bishop, Peter J. Kelly, Anne Marie Downie, David Hare and Desmond A. Morley made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 11:03 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:06 a.m., the sitting resumed.


PANEL III:Micheal Burke, George Leach, Katherine Reed, Mary Jess MacDonald, Jeanne Doucette, Mary Boyd and Peter F. Wilde made a statement and answered questions.


At 12:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Richard Dupuis, Caroline Martin
Clerks of the Committee

2003/11/18 10:44 a.m.