Skip to main content
Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 54

Thursday, May 1st, 2003

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 11:10 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Sue Barnes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Shawn Murphy, Charlie Penson, Judy Wasylycia-Leis, Bryon Wilfert.

Acting Members present: Larry Bagnell for the Hon. Maria Minna and Bob Speller for Gary Pillitteri.

In attendance:  From the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart, Analyst.

Witnesses: From the Dogrib Treaty 11 Council: Ted Blondin, Negotiator and Land Claims Manager; Chief Charlie Jim Nitsiza, Chief of Whati; Colin Jesse Salter, Legal Counsel. From the Yukon First Nations: Grand Chief Ed Schultz, Council of Yukon First Nations, Whitehorse, Yukon; Chief Joe Linklater, Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation; Chief Eric Morris, Teslin Tlingit Council, Teslin, Yukon; Chief Darren Taylor, Tr'ondek Hwech'in, Dawson City, Yukon; James Harper, Barrister and Solicitor, Pelly Crossing, Yukon.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, April 8, 2003, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-28, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on February 18, 2003 (See Minutes of Proceedings, Wednesday, April 9, 2003, Meeting No. 51).

Grand Chief Ed Schultz, Chief Darren Taylor, Chief Charlie Jim Nitsiza and Ted Blondin made a statement and with James Harper and Colin Jesse Salter answered questions.

At 12:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Richard Dupuis

Clerk of the Committee