Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication



Meeting No. 9

Tuesday, December 10, 2002

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 9:05 a.m. this day, in Room 362, East Block, the Chair, Charles Hubbard, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: David L. Anderson, Rick Borotsik, Murray Calder, Claude Duplain, Mark Eyking, Howard Hilstrom, Charles Hubbard, Larry McCormick, Louis Plamondon, Dick Proctor, Paul Steckle and Rose-Marie Ur.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Jean-Denis Fréchette, Principal and Frédéric Forge, Analyst.

Witnesses: From the Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food: Mark Corey, Assistant Deputy Minister, Market and Industry Services Branch; Bruce Deacon, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Management Branch; Douglas Hedley, Assistant Deputy Minister, Farm Financial Programs Branch; Tom Richardson, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch; Paul Schubert, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Communications Branch; Simon Kennedy, Director General, Policy Planning and Integration, Strategic Policy Branch; Howard Migie, Director General, Marketing Policy Directorate, Strategic Policy Branch; Michele Brenning, Director, Environment Bureau, Strategic Policy Branch; Rory McAlpine, Chief Agriculture Negotiator, International Trade Policy Directorate, Market and Industry Services Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its study of the status of the Agricultural Policy Framework.

Tom Richardson from the Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food made an opening statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 11:00 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.



Bibiane Ouellette
Clerk of the Committee