Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 39

Monday, June 30, 2003

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met in a televised session at 10:05 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Paul Steckle, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Rick Borotsik, Garry Breitkreuz, Claude Duplain, Howard Hilstrom, Rick Laliberte, John Maloney, Larry McCormick, Louis Plamondon, Dick Proctor, Paul Steckle and Rose-Marie Ur.

Acting Members present: Gerry Ritz for David L. Anderson.

Other Members present: Rick Casson and Scott Reid.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Frédéric Forge, Research Officer.

Witnesses: From the Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food: Andrew Marsland, Director General, International Markets Bureau; Gilles Lavoie, Senior Director General, Policy and Planning Team, Food Safety and Quality. From the Canadian Food Inspection Agency: Robert Carberry, Acting Vice President, Programs. From the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Claudio Valle, Director, Technical Barriers and Regulations; Andrew Moroz, Director, Trade Controls Policy. From the Canadian Cattlemen's Association: Brad Wildeman, Chair, Foreign Trade Committee; Stan Eby, Vice-president; Jim Caldwell, Director, Government Affairs. From the Butte Grain Merchants: Rick Paskal, Alberta Cattle Feeder; Cor Van Raay, Alberta Cattle Feeder. From the As Individual: Calvin Vaags, Manitoba Feed Lot Operator.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), Special Briefing on the BSE Disease Investigation.

Robert Carberry, Gilles Lavoie, Claudio Valle made an opening statement and, with Andrew Moroz answered questions.

At 11:12 a.m., Stan Eby, Brad Wildeman made an opening statement and, with Andrew Moroz and Gilles Lavoie, answered questions.

At 12:17 p.m., Rick Paskal, Cor Van Raay and Calvin Vaags made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 1:33 p.m., Robert Carberry, Gilles Lavoie and Andrew Moroz made a statement and, with Claudio Valle and Andrew Marshland answered questions.

At 1:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Georges Etoka

Committee Clerk