Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 12

Tuesday, February 4, 2003

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 11:00 a.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, for the purpose of electing a Chair and Vice-Chair pursuant to Standing Orders 106(1) and (2).

Members of the Committee present: David L. Anderson, Gérard Binet, Rick Borotsik, Garry Breitkreuz, Claude Duplain, Mark Eyking, Marcel Gagnon, Howard Hilstrom, Rick Laliberte, Dick Proctor, Bob Speller, Paul Steckle and Rose-Marie Ur.

Acting Members present: Brenda Chamberlain for Larry McCormick, John Maloney for John O’Reilly and Suzanne Tremblay for Louis Plamondon.

In attendance:  From the Committees Directorate: Jose Cadorette, Procedural Clerk

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Jean-Denis Fréchette, Principal and Frédéric Forge, Analyst.

Pursuant to Standing Order 106(1) and (2): Election of a Chair and one Vice-Chair, (government).

The clerk of the committee presided over the elections.

On motion of Suzanne Tremblay, it was agreed, - That Paul Steckle be elected as Chair of the Committee.

On motion of Rick Borotsik, it was agreed, - That Rose-Marie Ur be elected as Vice-Chair of the Committee.

Paul Steckle took the Chair.

At 11:25 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Bibiane Ouellette

Clerk of the Committee