Skip to main content
Start of content

AANR Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 49

Friday, March 21, 2003

The Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs, Northern Development and Natural Resources met at 8:12 a.m. this day, in the Ballroom of the Radisson Plaza Hotel Admiral, Toronto, Ontario, the Chair, Raymond Bonin, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Raymond Bonin, Stan Dromisky, John Godfrey, Charles Hubbard, Nancy Karetak-Lindell, Pat Martin.

Other Member present: Rick Laliberté.

In attendance: From the Committees Branch: Marc-Olivier Girard, Committee Clerk.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Mary Hurley, Analyst.

Witnesses:  As an Individual: Arthur Dennis Stark, Editor & Publisher, TANSI. From the Kitamaat Village Council: Steve C. Wilson, Kitamaat Band of Indians. As an Individual: Ken Marchant, Lawyer, The Marchant Practice. From the Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians: Chris McCormick. From the London District Chiefs Council: Phil Maness, Aamjiwnaang First Nation; Martin Powless, Technical Advisor. From the Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte: R. Donald Maracle; Christine Claus, Councillor; Lorraine Hill, Elder; Keitha Barberstock, Elder; Connie Perron; Chris McCormick. As Individuals: Marlene Martin; Christine Claus. From the Oneida Nation of The Thames: Terry Doxtator; Chief Rolanda Elija; Kim Thomas; Randy Phillips. From the Six Nations of the Grand River: Chief Roberta Jamieson; Josephine Harris, Elder; Joey Martin, Youth Representative.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Monday, October 7, 2002, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-7, An Act respecting leadership selection, administration and accountability of Indian bands, and to make related amendments to other Acts (See Minutes of Proceedings, Monday, January 27, 2003, Meeting No. 14).

At 8:12 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 8:15 a.m., the sitting resumed.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

At 8:28 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 8:31 a.m., the sitting resumed.

At 12:17 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Elizabeth B. Kingston

Clerk of the Committee