Skip to main content Start of content

SVET Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 5

Wednesday, March 13, 2002

The Sub-Committee on Veterans Affairs of the Standing Committee on National Defence and Veterans Affairs met at 4:05 p.m. this day, in Room 362, East Block, the Chair, Colleen Beaumier, presiding.

Members of the Sub-Committee present: Roy Bailey, Colleen Beaumier, Dan McTeague, Louis Plamondon, Carmen Provenzano, Elsie Wayne and Bob Wood.

Acting Member present: Yvon Godin for Peter Stoffer.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Michel Rossignol, Research Officer.

Appearing: The Honourable Rey Pagtakhan, P.C., M.P., Minister of Veterans Affairs.

Witnesses: From the Department of Veterans Affairs: Larry Murray, Deputy Minister; Brian Ferguson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Veterans Services; Keith Hillier, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Sub-Committee resumed consideration of its study on Long-Term Care for Veterans.

The Minister made an opening statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

The Sub-Committee considered a travel budget.

It was agreed, -- That the proposed budget in the amount of $21,460 be adopted for the Sub-Committee’s travel to Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue (April 18, 2002) and Toronto (May 1 and 2, 2002).

At 5:16 p.m., the Sub-Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.



Diane Deschamps
Clerk of the Sub-Committee