Skip to main content Start of content

SNUD Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 49

Thursday, May 30, 2002

The Special Committee on Non-Medical Use of Drugs met in a televised session at 3:36 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Paddy Torsney, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Carole-Marie Allard, The Hon. Hedy Fry, Derek Lee, Réal Ménard, Kevin Sorenson, Paddy Torsney and Randy White.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Marilyn Pilon, research officer.

Witnesses: From REAL Women of Canada: Gwendolyn Landolt, National Vice-President; Sophie Joannou, Executive Member; Diane Watts, Researcher. From the Association for Better Living and Education (ABLE Canada): Brad Melnychuk, Executive Director. From Narconon: Devinder Luthra.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference adopted by the House of Commons on Thursday, May 17, 2001, and of Wednesday, April 17, 2002, referring the subject matter of Bill C-344, An Act to amend the Contraventions Act and the Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (marihuana) to the Special Committee, the Committee resumed consideration of the factors underlying or relating to the non-medical use of drugs (See Minutes of Proceedings of Thursday, June 7, 2001, Meeting No. 1).

Gwendolyn Landolt and Brad Melnychuk made opening statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 4:59 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:00 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera to discuss its future business.

At 5:08 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Eugene Morawski


Committee Clerk