Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 26

Tuesday, October 16, 2001

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Andy Scott, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Carole-Marie Allard, Michel Bellehumeur, Ivan Grose, Peter MacKay, John McKay, Lynn Myers, Stephen Owen, Denis Paradis, Andy Scott, Kevin Sorenson, Vic Toews.

Acting Members present: Diane Bourgeois for Michel Bellehumeur, Benoît Sauvageau for Pierrette Venne, Derek Lee for John Maloney, Brian Fitzpatrick for Myron Thompson, Howard Hilstrom for Chuck Cadman.

Associate Members present: Inky Mark, Tom Wappel.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Gérald Lafrenière, researcher.

Witnesses: From the Fur Council of Canada: Alan Herscovici, Executive Vice-President. From the Canadian Council on Animal Care: Dr. Clément Gauthier, Executive Director, Marie Bédard, Director of Communications.  From World Society for the Protection of Animals: Lesli Bisgould.

Pursuant to the notice given on October 2, 2001, the Committee began consideration of the following motion to:


Re-establish the Sub-Committee on National Security:


“That pursuant to Standing Order 108(1)(a) and (b) a Sub-Committee on National Security, composed of 9 Members; 5 Members from the Liberal Party; one Member from the Canadian Alliance; one Member from the Bloc Québécois; one Member from the New Democratic Party and one Member from the PC/DR, be established with all the powers of the Committee except the power to report to the House; and pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) the mandate of the said Sub-Committee shall include review and consideration of the budgets and the propriety and efficacy of the functions performed and the powers exercised by the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS), the RCMP National Security Investigations Branch, and their relationships with all departments and agencies with which they have a memorandum of understanding or other working arrangements, the Annual Report to Parliament of the Security Intelligence Review Committee, all Special Reports made by SIRC under section 54 of the CSIS Act, the operations of the SIRC on behalf of Parliament, the Annual Statement on National Security made by the Solicitor General, the Annual Public Report made by the Director of CSIS”.


Derek Lee moved the following amendment:


“That the sub-committee be composed of 11 members, 6 members from the Liberal Party, two members from the Canadian Alliance; one member from the Bloc Quebecois; one member from the New Democratic Party and one Member from the PC/DR and that the review of the annual report of the Commissioner of the Communications Security Establishment be added to the mandate of the said sub-committee.”


And the question being put on the amendment, it was agreed to.


The question being put on the motion, it was agreed to unanimously.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Monday, March 19, 2001, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-15, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and to amend other Acts (See Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, October 2, 2001, Meeting No. 22).

Alan Herscovici, Dr. Clément Gauthier and Lesli Bisgould each made a statement and, with Marie Bédard, answered questions.

At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Catherine Barrette / Marie Danielle Vachon




Clerks of the Committee