Skip to main content
Start of content

HERI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 21

Thursday, October 25, 2001

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 9:07 a.m. this day, in Room 701, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Clifford Lincoln, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sarmite Bulte, Rodger Cuzner, Claude Duplain, Clifford Lincoln, Grant McNally, Dennis Mills, Tony Tirabassi.

Acting Members present: Andy Burton for Jim Abbott; John Cummins for Cheryl Gallant; Louis Plamondon for Christiane Gagnon.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Robin McKay and Joseph Jackson, Research Officers.

Witnesses: From the Village of Port Clements (The): Joan Ann Allen, Mayor. From the Parks Canada Agency: Susan Katz, Director, Legislation and Policy Branch; Nik Lopoukhine, Director General, National Parks Directorate; Kevin McNamee, Director, Parks Establishment; Daphne Porter, Legal Counsel. Via videoconference from Vancouver, B.C.:  From the Federation of British Columbia Naturalists: Anne Murray, Executive Director. From the British Columbia Chamber of Commerce: Andrew Winn-Williams, Director, Policy and Communications. From the BC Seafood Alliance: Michelle James, President. From the Island Trust: Gordon McIntosh, Executive Director. From the Bluewater Adventures Ltd.: Randy Burke.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Thursday, May 10, 2001, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-10, An Act respecting the national marine conservation areas of Canada (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, May 31, 2001, Meeting No. 13).

Joan Ann Allen made a statement and answered questions.

Susan Katz, from Parks Canada, made a statement and answered questions.

At 10:50 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:15 a.m., the sitting resumed via videoconference with Vancouver.

Anne Murray, Andrew Winn-Williams, Michelle James, Gordon McIntosh and Randy Burke made statements and answered questions.

At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Fisher

Clerk of the Committee