Skip to main content
Start of content

HERI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 19

Tuesday, October 23, 2001

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 9:07 a.m. this day, in Room 701, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Clifford Lincoln, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sarmite Bulte, Rodger Cuzner, John Harvard, Clifford Lincoln, Grant McNally, Dennis Mills, Tony Tirabassi.

Acting Members present: Andy Burton for Jim Abbott; Ghislain Fournier for Christiane Gagnon.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Joe Jackson and Mollie Dunsmuir, Research Officers.

Witnesses: From the District of Kitimat: Richard Wozney, Mayor. From the North Coast Oil & Gas Task Force (The): David K. McGuigan, Chairman. From the BC Fisheries Survival Coalition: Phillip Eidsvik, President. From the Haida Nation in the North Pacific: Guujaaw, President. From the Haida Gwaii Marine Resources Group Association: Kimiko von Boetticher, Watershed Stewardship Coordinator. From the Tseycum First Nation: Chief Vern Jacks. Via videoconference from Prince Rupert, B.C.: From the City of Prince Rupert: Don Scott, Mayor. From the Village of Telkwa: Sharon L. Hartwell, Mayor. From the District of Port Edward: Paddy Green, Councillor. From the Tlell Watershed Society: Lynn Lee, Chair. From the Town of Smithers: Cress Farrow, Councillor.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Thursday, May 10, 2001, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-10, An Act respecting the national marine conservation areas of Canada (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, May 31, 2001, Meeting No. 13).

Richard Wozney, David McGuigan and Phillip Eidsvik made statements and answered questions.

At 10:20 a.m., Dennis Mills took the Chair.

Kimiko von Boetticher, Guujaaw and Chief Vern Jacks made statements and answered questions.

At 11:10 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:30 a.m., the sitting resumed via videoconference with Prince Rupert, B.C..

Don Scott, Sharon Hartwell, Paddy Green (speaking on behalf of the District of Port Edward and the Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District) and Cress Farrow made statements and answered questions.

Lynn Lee made a statement

At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Fisher

Clerk of the Committee