Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 87

Tuesday, April 16, 2002

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:40 a.m. this day, in Room 209, West Block, the Chair, Sue Barnes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Carolyn Bennett, Scott Brison, Roy Cullen, Rahim Jaffer, Jason Kenney, Yvan Loubier, Maria Minna, Shawn Murphy, Pauline Picard, Gary Pillitteri, Bryon Wilfert.

Other Member present: Richard Harris.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Acting Principal, Blayne Haggart and Marc-André Pigeon, Research Officers.

Witnesses: From the "Association des Vignerons du Québec": Jean-Pierre Bélisle, Administrator. From "Les bières du Nord": Laura Urtnowski, President. From the Canadian Council of Regional Breweries: Pierre Paquin, Director General; Bob King, President, Big Rock Brewery; Howard Thompson, President and CEO, Creemore Springs Brewery Limited; William D. Baxter, President, Cascadia Brands. From the "Association des micro-brasseries du Québec": André Dion, President. From the "Association des cidriculteurs Artisans du Québec": Léo Boutin, President.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, April 9, 2002, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-47, An Act respecting the taxation of spirits, wine and tobacco and the treatment of ships' stores (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, April 11, 2002, Meeting No. 86).

It was agreed, -That the Association of Canadian Airport Duty Free Operators as well as “Produits Ronald Ltée” be invited to appear before the Committee concerning Bill C-47.

Pierre Paquin, Jean-Pierre Bélisle and Léo Boutin made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 10:55 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc Toupin

Clerk of the Committee