Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 80

Monday, February 25, 2002

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Sue Barnes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Ken Epp, Albina Guarnieri, Jason Kenney, Yvan Loubier, Pauline Picard, Bryon Wilfert.

Acting Members present: Mac Harb for Nick Discepola, Paddy Torsney for Carolyn Bennett, Gérard Binet for Maurizio Bevilacqua, David Price for Roy Cullen, Murray Calder for Sophia Leung, Bill Matthews for Shawn Murphy, Tony Valeri for Gary Pillitteri.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Acting Principal, Marc-André Pigeon, Research Officer.

Witnesses: From Air Line Pilots Association, International: Kent Hardisty, Executive Vice-President; Art LaFlamme, Senior Representative, Canada; Roman Stoykewych, Legal Counsel. From Canadian Airports Council: R. Neil Raynor, Executive Director. From Tourism Industry Association of Canada: Randall M. Williams, President and CEO.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Monday, February 18, 2002, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-49, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on December 10, 2001 (See Minutes of Proceedings, Wednesday, February 20, 2002, Meeting No. 78).

Captain Kent Hardisty, R. Neil Raynor and Randalll M. Williams made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 5:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc Toupin

Clerk of the Committee