Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 78

Wednesday, February 20, 2002

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Sue Barnes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Carolyn Bennett, Scott Brison, Roy Cullen, Nick Discepola, Ken Epp, Jason Kenney, Sophia Leung, Yvan Loubier, John McCallum, Shawn Murphy, Lorne Nystrom, Pauline Picard, Gary Pillitteri.

Acting Members present: Bryon Wilfert for Maurizio Bevilacqua; James Moore for Rahim Jaffer.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart and Marc-André Pigeon, Research Officers.

Appearing: From the House of Commons: The Honourable John McCallum, Secretary of State (International Financial Institutions).

Witnesses: From the Department of Finance: Serge Dupont, General Director, Tax Policy Branch; John Davies, Senior Economist, International Finance & Economic Analysis Division, International Trade & Finance; Gérald Lalonde, Senior Chief, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch. From the Department of Transport: William J.S. Elliott, Assistant Deputy Minister, Safety and Security Group. From Infrastructure Canada: Jacques Parent, Acting Assistant Secretary. From the Department of Human Resources Development Canada: Gordon W. McFee, Director, Policy and Legislative Development. From Air Transport Association of Canada: J. Clifford Mackay, President and Chief Executive Officer; Warren Everson, Vice-President, Policy and Strategic Planning. From WestJet Airlines: Mark Hill, Vice-President, Strategic Planning.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference dated Monday, February 18, 2002, consideration of Bill C-49, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on December 10, 2001.

The Chair called Clause 1.

The Honourable John McCallum made a statement and with the other witnesses, answered questions.

Clifford MacKay and Mark Hill made statements and, with the other witness, answered questions.

James Moore proposed to move, --That Roy Cullen replace Sue Barnes as Chair of this Committee.

Lack of quorum having been noticed and, fewer than ten members having been counted, the names of the Members present were taken down as follows:

Members present: Sue Barnes, Scott Brison, Roy Cullen, Ken Epp, Jason Kenney, Yvan Loubier, Lorne Nystrom, Pauline Picard.

Acting Members: James Moore for Rahim Jaffer.

At 5:45 p.m., the Chair declared the meeting adjourned for want of quorum.

Marc Toupin

Clerk of the Committee