Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 58

Monday, October 22, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met at the Renaissance Vancouver Hotel at 9:00 a.m., the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Maurizio Bevilacqua, Roy Cullen, Ken Epp, Lorne Nystrom.

Associate Member present: Jim Pankiw

In attendance: From Committees Directorate: Marc Toupin, Clerk of the Committee. From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart, Researcher.

Witnesses: From the Technical University of British Columbia: Tom Calvert, Professor and Vice President, Research and External Affairs; Dr. Linda Bartram, NSERC Industrial Post-Doctoral Fellow. From the University Presidents' Council of B.C.: Don J. Avison, President. From the Canadian Parks and Wildnerness Society - BC Chapter: Sabine Jessen, Conservation Director. From the BC Road Builders & Heavy Construction Association: Jack Davidson, President. From the College Institute Educators' Association of B.C.: Maureen Shaw, President; Roseanne Moran, Communications and Research Staff Representative. From the Indian Taxation Advisory Board: Chief Clarence (Manny) Jules, Chair. From the First Nations Summit Society: Harold Calla, Chair, Fiscal; Jason Calla, Councillor; Howard Grant. From the Tenants Rights Action Coalition: Linda Mix, Community Legal Worker; Vanessa Greary, Member.

Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee continued its study on Pre-Budget Consultations.

Tom Calvert, Dr. Linda Bartram, Don J. Avison, Sabine Jessen and Jack Davidson made statements and answered questions.

At 10:30 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:43 a.m., the sitting resumed.

At 10:43 a.m., Ken Epp took the Chair.

Maureen Shaw, Harold Calla, Linda Mix and Manny Jules made statements and answered questions.

At 12:22 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Mike MacPherson

Committee Clerk