Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 56

Thursday, October 18, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met at the Westin Nova Scotian Hotel at 9:04 a.m., the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Maurizio Bevilacqua, Carolyn Bennett, Scott Brison, Albina Guarnieri, Rahim Jaffer, Shawn Murphy, Lorne Nystrom.


In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Marc-André Pigeon, Researcher, Marion G. Wrobel, Senior Analyst.


Witnesses: From the Nova Scotia Association of Health Organization: Peter MacKinnon, CEO of Colchester East Hants Health Authority and Member of the NSHAHO Board of Directors and Chair of the Working Group; Robert A. Cook, President; George Kephart. From the Newfoundland-Labrador Federation of Co-operatives: Glen Fitzpatrick, Managing Director. From the Independent Living Resource Centre: Cecilia Carroll, Chairperson; Lois Miller, Executive Director, Metro Resource Centre for Independent Living; As Individual: Jane Warren. From the Annapolis Valley Hants Community Action Program for Children: Pauline Raven, Regional Coordinator. From the MacKillop Centre for Social Justice: Mary Boyd, Director. From Childcare Connections Nova Scotia: Elaine Ferguson, Executive Director. From the Dalhousie Legal Aid Services: Jeanne Fay, Community Legal Worker. From the Nova Scotia New Democratic Party: Graham Steele, Finance Critic. From the Nova Scotia School Boards Association: Lavinia Parrish-Zwicker, President; Mary Jess MacDonald, First Vice President.


Pursuant to Standing Order 83.1, the Committee continued its study of Pre-Budget Consultations.


Peter MacKinnon, Lois Miller, Cecilia Carroll, Glen Fitzpatrick and Jane Warren made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 10:51 o'clock a.m., the sitting was suspended.


At 11:05 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Elaine Ferguson, Lavinia Parrish-Zwicker, Jeanne Fay, Mary Boyd, Pauline Raven and Graham Steele made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 12:10 o'clock p.m., Albina Guarnieri took the Chair.


At 12:25 o'clock p.m., Maurizio Bevilacqua took the Chair.


At 12:47 o'clock p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.



Marc Toupin
Clerk of the Committee