Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 39

Monday, October 1st, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, for the purpose of organization.

Members of the Committee present: Carolyn Bennett, Maurizio Bevilacqua, Scott Brison, Ken Epp, Rahim Jaffer, Jason Kenney, John McCallum, Shawn Murphy, Pauline Picard, Gary Pillitteri.

Acting Members present: Judi Longfield for Sue Barnes, Marlene Catterall for Roy Cullen, Stan Dromisky for Nick Discepola, Walt Lastewka for Albina Guarnieri, Charles Hubbard for Sophia Leung, Yvon Godin for Lorne Nystrom.

In attendance: From Committees Directorate: Mike MacPherson, Committee Clerk. From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart; Marc-André Pigeon, Researchers; Marion Wrobel, Senior Analyst.

The Clerk presided over the election of a Chair.

On motion of Ken Epp, it was agreed, -That Maurizio Bevilacqua be elected Chair of the Committee.

Accordingly, Maurizio Bevilacqua was declared duly elected Chair of the Committee and took the Chair.

On motion of John McCallum, it was agreed, -That Ken Epp be elected Vice-Chair of the Committee.

On motion of Charles Hubbard, it was agreed, --That Nick Discepola be elected Vice-Chair of the Committee (in absentia).

At 3:35 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc Toupin

Clerk of the Committee