Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 38

Thursday, September 27, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:34 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Carolyn Bennett, Maurizio Bevilacqua, Scott Brison, Roy Cullen, Ken Epp, Albina Guarnieri, Sophia Leung, Yvan Loubier, John McCallum, Lorne Nystrom, Pauline Picard, Gary Pillitteri.

In attendance: From Committees Directorate: Mike MacPherson, Clerk. From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart; Marc-André Pigeon, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Association of Fundraising Professionals: James Pitblado, Chair of the Board, Hospital for Sick Children; Nicholas Offord, President of the Foundation. From the National Council of Women of Canada: Shirley Browne, Vice President; Maria Neil, Convenor of Economics. From the National Task Force to Promote Employer-Provided Tax-Exempt Transit Benefits: Donna-Lynn Ahee, Project Manager; Amelia Shaw, Manager, Public Affairs, Canadian Urban Transit Association (CUTA). From the Canadian Conference of the Arts: Megan Williams, National Director; Philippa Borgal, Associate Director.

In accordance with its mandate under Standing Order 83(1), the Committee continued its study on Pre-Budget Consultations.

Nicholas Offord, James Pitblado, Shirley Browne, Maria Neil, Amelia Shaw, Megan Williams made statements and, answered questions.

At 11:33 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc Toupin

Clerk of the Committee