Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 37

Wednesday, September 26, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Acting Chair, Albina Guarnieri, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Carolyn Bennett, Maurizio Bevilacqua, Scott Brison, Roy Cullen, Ken Epp, Roger Gallaway, Albina Guarnieri, Yvan Loubier, Lorne Nystrom, Gary Pillitteri.

Acting Members present: Sarmite Bulte for Nick Discepola, David Price for Sophia Leung, Paul Macklin for John McCallum, Christiane Gagnon for Pauline Picard.

In attendance: From Committees Directorate: Mike MacPherson, Clerk. From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart, Marc-André Pigeon, Researchers.

Witnesses: From Canadian Museums Association: Francine Brousseau, President; John G. McAvity, Executive Director. From Community Foundations of Canada: Monica Patten, President and C.E.O. From Heritage Canada Foundation: Brian P. Anthony, Executive Director; Douglas Franklin, Director, Government & Public Relations. From Canada Foundation for Innovation: Dr. David W. Strangway, President and Chief Executive Officer, Carmen Charette, Senior Vice-President. From Canadian Library Association: Vicki Whitmell, Executive Director.

In accordance with its mandate under Standing Order 83(1), the Committee continued its study on Pre-Budget Consultations

Francine Brousseau, Monica Patten, Brian P. Anthony, Dr. David W. Stangway and Vicki Whitmell made openings statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 3:40 o’clock p.m., Maurizio Bevilacqua took the Chair.

At 5:21 o’clock p.m., the Committee proceeded to consider its future business in camera.

It was agreed, --That the Committee invite the Minister responsible for CCRA, his officials and the Customs & Excise Union to appear before the Committee concerning issues related to border security.

It was agreed, --That the Committee invite the Secretary of State for Financial Institutions, the Superintendent for Financial Institutions, the RCMP Proceeds of Crime Branch and FINTRAC to appear before the Committee concerning the fight against the financing of terrorism.

It was agreed, --That the Committee invite the Ministers responsible for National Defence, Citizenship and Immigration as well as the RCMP, CSIS, SIRC and OCIPEP and their senior officials to appear before the Committee concerning the resource requirements of these departments as they relate to the issue of national security.

At 5:28 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc Toupin

Clerk of the Committee