Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 32

Wednesday, June 6, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:38 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Maurizio Bevilacqua, Scott Brison, Albina Guarnieri, Yvan Loubier, Lorne Nystrom, Joe Peschisolido and Gary Pillitteri..

Acting Member present: Paul Crête for Pauline Picard.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Marc-André Pigeon and Blayne Haggart, Researchers.  From Committees and Parliamentary Associations Directorate: Mike MacPherson, Committee Clerk.

Witnesses: From "Confédération des syndicats nationaux": Marc Laviolette, President; Louis Bibaud, Assistant to the Executive Committee; François Bélanger, Economist and Union Advisor, Labour Relations. From Canadian Auto Workers Union: Bill Murnigham, National Representative, Research Department. From Canadian Labour Congress: Ken Georgetti, President. From Public Service Alliance of Canada: Nycole Turmel, National President. From "Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec (FTQ)": Henri Massé, President. From Canadian Federation of Nurses Unions: Kathleen Connors, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to hear Canadian Labour Leaders on the state of the Canadian economy.

Marc Laviolette, Bill Murningham, Ken Georgetti, Nycole Turmel, Henri Massé and Kathleen Connors made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 5:11 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Pat Steenberg

Clerk of the Committee