Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 27

Tuesday, May 29, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:39 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Acting Chair, Sue Barnes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Carolyn Bennett, Maurizio Bevilacqua, Scott Brison, Roy Cullen, Ken Epp, Roger Gallaway, Albina Guarnieri, Sophia Leung, Yvan Loubier, John McCallum, Lorne Nystrom and Gary Pillitteri.

Acting Member present: Lynn Myers for Nick Discepola.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart and Marc-André Pigeon, Researchers. From Committees and Parliamentary Associations Directorate: Mike MacPherson, Committee Clerk.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Bar Association: Tamra L. Thomson, Director, Legislation and Law Reform; Arthur Drache, Member-at-Large, National Charities and Not-for-Profit Law Section. From the Canadian Islamic Congress: Me Rocco Galati, Constitutional Lawyer, CIC Legal Counsel; Wahida Valiante, National Vice-President and Vice-Chair fo the Board; Mumtaz Akhtar, Member, CIC National Steering Committee to reform Bill C-16. From the Canadian Council for Refugees: Chantal Tie, Executive Director, Community Legal Services, Ottawa South; Michael Bossin, Staff Lawyer, Community Legal Services, Ottawa-Carleton.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, May 1st, 2001, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-16, An Act respecting the registration of charities and security information and to amend the Income Tax Act (See Minutes of Proceedings, Wednesday, May 16, 2001, Meeting No. 23).

On Clause 1.


Arthur Drache and Wahida Valiante made statements.


At 9:57 a.m., the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, took the Chair.


Rocco Galati, Chantal Tie and Michael Bossin made statements and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 10:59 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Pat Steenberg

Clerk of the Committee