Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 24

Thursday, May 17, 2001

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 11:03 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Maurizio Bevilacqua, Scott Brison, Roy Cullen, Nick Discepola, Ken Epp, Roger Gallaway, Albina Guarnieri, Jason Kenney, Sophia Leung, Yvan Loubier, Lorne Nystrom and Joe Peschisolido.

Acting Members present: Stockwell Day for Richard Harris and Alex Shepherd for Gary Pillitteri.

Associate Member present: Alex McDonough.

Other Member present: Peter Stoffer.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart and Marc-André Pigeon, Researchers; Marion Wrobel, Senior Analyst.  From Committees and Parliamentary Associates Directorate:  Mike MacPherson, Committee Clerk.

Appearing: From the Department of Finance: The Hon. Paul Martin, Minister.

Witnesses: From the Department of Finance: Kevin G. Lynch, Deputy Minister, Finance; Paul-Henri Lapointe, Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic and Fiscal Policy Branch; Dale Eisler, Assistant Deputy Minister, Consultations and Communications Branch; Peter DeVries, Director, Fiscal Policy Division; Munir Sheikh, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Tax Policy Branch; Steven James, Director, Economic Analysis and Forecasting Division.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to consider the Minister’s Economic Update.

The Minister made a statement and answered questions.

At 1:06 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Pat Steenberg

Clerk of the Committee