Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 106

Wednesday, May 29, 2002

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Sue Barnes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Carolyn Bennett, Roy Cullen, Nick Discepola, Sophia Leung, Grant McNally, Shawn Murphy, The Hon. Lorne Nystrom, Charlie Penson, Pauline Picard, Gary Pillitteri, Bryon Wilfert.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart; and Marc-André Pigeon, Research Officers.

Appearing: From Canada Customs and Revenue Canada: The Hon. Elinor Caplan, Minister of National Revenue.

Witnesses: From Canada Customs and Revenue Agency: Rob Wright, Commissioner; William Baker, Assistant Commissioner, Compliance Programs Branch; Denis Lefebvre, Assistant Commissioner, Customs Branch; David W. Miller, Assistant Commissioner, Assessment and Collections Branch; Stephen Rigby, Chief Financial Officer and Assistant Commissioner, Finance and Administration Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(6), the Committee examined the Main Estimates for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2003: VOTES 1, 5 and 10 under Canada Customs and Revenue Agency.

The Minister made a statement and with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc Toupin

Clerk of the Committee