Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 101

Tuesday, May 21, 2002

The Standing Committee on Finance met in a televised session at 9:35 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Sue Barnes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Sue Barnes, Roy Cullen, Nick Discepola, Sophia Leung, Yvan Loubier, Grant McNally, Maria Minna, Shawn Murphy, Bryon Wilfert.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: June Dewetering, Acting Principal, Blayne Haggart and Marc-André Pigeon, Research Officers

Witnesses: From the Canadian Council on Social Development: Andrew Jackson, Director of Research; Lori Harrop, Director, Public affairs. From the Canadian Ethnocultural Council: Art Hagopian, President; Anna Chiappa, Executive Director. From the Council of Canadians with Disabilities: Mary Ennis, Vice-President; Laurie Beachell, National Coordinator. From the National Council of Welfare: Sheila Regehr, Director. From the Canada's Association for the Fifty-Plus: William Gleberzon, Associate Executive Director; Rolf Calhoun, Ottawa Representative.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee continued its pre-budget discussions.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

At 11:42 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marc Toupin

Clerk of the Committee