Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 64

Thursday, June 8, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Stan Dromisky, Joe Fontana, Charles Hubbard, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Lou Sekora.

Acting Members present: Wayne Easter for Claude Drouin; Lee Morrison for Dale Johnston, Howard Hilstrom for Val Meredith; Dick Proctor for Bev Desjarlais and Rick Borotsik for Bill Casey.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Appearing: From Natural Resources Canada: Ralph Goodale, Minister. (at 6:46 p.m.)

Witnesses: From the Keystone Agricultural Producers: Donald R. Dewar, President. From the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities: Bob Schultz, Director; Jim Hallick, Director. From the Canadian Federation of Agriculture: Jim Wilson, President. From the Hudson Bay Route Association: Arnold Grambo, President. From the Wild Rose Agricultural Producers: Neil Wagstaff, President; Rod Scarlett, Executive Director. From the Canadian Dehydrators Association: Garry Benoit, Executive Director. From the Greater Vancouver Gateway Council: T. Nardi, Chair; R.V. Wilds, Past Chair; G. Skura, Director. From the B.C. Agriculture Council: Dan Wiebe, Spokesperson. From the Manitoba Department of Highways & Transportation: Steve Ashton, Minister. From Natural Resources Canada: Howard Migie.


Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Thursday, June 1st, 2000, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-34, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act (See Minutes of Proceedings, Monday, June 5, 2000 , Meeting No. 59).

Honourable Steve Ashton, Donald R. Dewar, Jim Hallick, Jim Wilson, Arnold Grambo made opening statements and, with Bob Schultz, answered questions.

At 4:54 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 5:03 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting resumed.

Garry Benoit, R.V. Wilds, Dan Wiebe, Neil Wagstaff made opening statements and, with T. Nardi and G. Skura, answered questions.

At 6:06 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 6:46 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting resumed in camera.

At 8:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.





Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee