Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 63

Thursday, June 8, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 9:08 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Joe Comuzzi, Stan Dromisky, Joe Fontana, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Lou Sekora.

Acting Members present: Wayne Easter for Claude Drouin; Lee Morrison for Dale Johnston; Howard Hilstrom for Val Meredith; Dick Proctor for Bev Desjarlais and Rick Borotsik for Bill Casey.

In attendance: From Legislative Services: Jacques Lahaie. From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association: Ted Menzies, Vice-President; Andy Elliott, Executive Director. From the Prairie Farm Commodity Coalition: Paul Earl, Research Director. From the National Farmers Union: Terry Boehm, Chairman; Wendy Manson, Member of the Transportation Group. From the Canadian Canola Growers Association: Wayne Bacon, President; Ernie Doerksen, General Manager. From the As Individual: Willard Z. Estey, Grain Handling and Transport Review Commission; Neil Thurston.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Thursday, June 1st, 2000, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-34, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act (See Minutes of Proceedings, Monday, June 5, 2000 , Meeting No. 59).

By unanimous consent, it was agreed to distribute documents in the official language provided by the witnesses.

Paul Earle, Wendy Manson, Terry Boehm, Ernie Doerksen, Ted Menzies made opening statements and, with Andy Elliott and Wayne Bacon, answered questions.

At 10:58 a.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 11:10 a.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting resumed.

Justice Willard Z. Estey made and opening statement and, with Neil Thurston, answered questions.

At 12:55 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.





Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee