Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 62

Wednesday, June 7, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the acting Chair, Murray Calder, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Gérard Asselin, Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Joe Comuzzi, Stan Dromisky, Joe Fontana, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Ovid Jackson, Lou Sekora.

Acting Members present: Wayne Easter for Claude Drouin; Lee Morrison for Dale Johnston; Howard Hilstrom for Val Meredith; Dick Proctor for Bev Desjarlais and Rick Borotsik for Bill Casey.

In attendance: From Legislative Services: Jacques Lahaie. From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Pacific Railway: Rob J. Ritchie, President and CEO; Ray Foot, Assistant Vice-President, Grain; Dennis Abedaile, Assistant Vice-President, Government Affairs. From the Western Rail Coalition: Ron Gleim, Saskatchewan Co-Chair. From the OmniTRAX Canada: Gary Rennick, Chief Operating Officer. From the Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees: Gary D. Housch, Vice-President. From the Railway Association of Canada: Roger Cameron, General Manager, Public and Government Affairs. From the Saskatchewan Department of Highways and Transportation: The Hon. Maynard Sonntag, Minister; Ron Styles, Deputy Minister; Michael Makowski, Senior Policy Analyst. From the Canadian Special Crops Association: François Catellier, Executive Director.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Thursday, June 1st, 2000, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-34, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act (See Minutes of Proceedings, Monday, June 5, 2000 , Meeting No. 59).

Rob J. Ritchie made an opening statement and, with Ray Foot, answered questions.

At 5:04 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 6:22 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting resumed.

By unanimous consent, it was agred to distribute documents in one official language provided by the witnesses.

It was also agreed to ask a witness from the Railway Association of Canada to participate at the round table.

Gary D. Housch, Ron Gleim, Gary Rennick and Roger Cameron made opening statements and answered questions.

Honourable Maynard Sonntag and François Catellier made opening statements and, with Ron Styles and Michael Makowski, answered questions.

At 9:05 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 9:10 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting resumed in camera.

At 9:12 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.





Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee