Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 61

Tuesday, June 6, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Gérard Asselin, Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Joe Comuzzi, Stan Dromisky, Joe Fontana, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Lou Sekora.

Acting Members present: Guy St-Julien for Claude Drouin; Lee Morrison for Dale Johnston; Howard Hilstrom for Val Meredith; Dick Proctor for Bev Desjarlais and Rick Borotsik for Bill Casey.

Other: Wayne Easter.

In attendance: From Legislative Services: Jacques Lahaie. From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Canadian National: Paul M. Tellier, President and CEO; Sandi Mielitz, Vice President, Commercial Development. From the Western Canadian Shippers Coalition: Ian May; Jim Foran, Legal Counsel. From the Canadian Pulp and Paper Association: David W. Church, Director, Transportation, Recycling and Purchasing. From the Canadian Oilseed Processors Association: Robert Broeska, President; R. Watson; James Dolynchuk.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Thursday, June 1st, 2000, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-34, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act (See Minutes of Proceedings, Monday, June 5, 2000 , Meeting No. 59).

Paul M. Tellier made an opening statement and, with Sandi Mielitz, answered questions.

At 5:06 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 7:25 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting resumed.

Robert Broeska, David Church and Jim Foran made opening statements and answered questions.

At 8:12 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.






Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee