Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 60

Tuesday, June 6, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 9:06 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Gérard Asselin, Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Stan Dromisky, Michel Guimond, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes.

Acting Members present: Wayne Easter for Joe Fontana; Lee Morrison for Dale Johnston; Howard Hilstrom for Val Meredith; Dick Proctor for Bev Desjarlais; Rick Borotsik for Bill Casey.

In attendance: From Legislative Services: Jacques Lahaie. From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Wheat Board: Ken Ritter, Chairman of the Board of Directors; Ian McCreary, Director. From the Agricore Cooperative Ltd.: Neil Silver, President; Gordon Cummings, Chief Executive Officer. From the United Grain Growers: Ted Allen, President and Chairman of the Board; Brian Hayward, Chief Executive Officer. From the Saskatchewan Wheat Pool: Marvin Wiens, President and Chairman of the Board; Mayo Schmidt, Chief Executive Officer. From the James Richardson International Limited: Curt Vossen, President and CEO. From the Cargill Limited: Kerry Hawkins, President and CEO.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Thursday, June 1st, 2000, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-34, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act (See Minutes of Proceedings, Monday, June 5, 2000 , Meeting No. 59).

Ken Ritter and Ian McCreary made opening statements and answered questions.

At 10:38 a.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 10:50 a.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting resumed.

Gordon Cummings, Ted Allen, Brian Hayward, Marvin Wiens and Neil Silver made opening statements and, with Kerry Hawkins, Mayo Schmidt and Curt Vossen, answered questions.

At 12:37 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.






Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee