Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 59

Monday, June 5, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 3:35 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Joe Comuzzi, Stan Dromisky, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Lou Sekora.

Acting Members present: Wayne Easter for Joe Fontana; Lee Morrison for Dale Johnston; Howard Hilstrom for Val Meredith; Dick Proctor for Bev Desjarlais and Rick Borotsik for Bill Casey.

In attendance: From Legislative Services: Jacques Lahaie. From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Appearing: From Transport Canada: David Collenette, Minister; From Natural Resources Canada: Ralph Goodale, Minister of Natural Resources & Minister responsible for the Canadian Wheat Board; From Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada: Lyle Vanclief, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food.

Witnesses: From Transport Canada: Margaret Bloodworth, Deputy Minister; Guylaine Roy, Director General, Surface Policy.

Pursuant to an Order of Reference of the House dated, June 1, 2000, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-34, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act.

Honourable David Collenette, Honourable Lyle Vanclief and Honourable Ralph Goodale made opening statements and, with Margaret Bloodworth and Guylaine Roy, answered questions.

At 5:31 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 5:34 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting resumed.

At 5:50 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.




Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee