Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 58

Monday, May 29, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 3:37 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Bev Desjarlais, Claude Drouin, Joe Fontana, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Stan Keyes.

Acting Members present: Guy St-Julien for Stan Dromisky; Hec Clouthier for Ovid Jackson; Howard Hilstrom for Val Meredith.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researcher.

Appearing: From Transport Canada: David Collenette, Minister.

Witnesses: From the Transport Canada: Ron Jackson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Safety and Security; Louis Ranger, Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy; Ronald Sully, Assistant Deputy Minister, Programs and Divestiture; Janet Milne, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Group.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(6), the Committee resumed consideration of the Main Estimates for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2001: Vote 15 under Privy Council and Votes 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 under Transport Canada and pursuant to Standing Order 81(7), consideration of the 2000-2001 Estimates Part III - Report on Plans and Priorities priorities.

Honourable David Collenette, Louis Ranger, Ron Jackson and Ronald Sully answered questions.

At 4:43 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges



Clerk of the Committee