Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 51

Tuesday, May 2, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 3:38 p.m. this day, in Room 705, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Gérard Asselin, Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Bill Casey, Bev Desjarlais, Stan Dromisky, Joe Fontana, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Stan Keyes, Lou Sekora.

Acting Member present: Jim Gouk for Val Meredith.

Other Member present: Tony Valeri

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the British Airways: Malcolm Freeman, Vice-President and General Manager, Canada. From the British Airways / Air France / Cathay Pacific: Robert S. Russell, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP. From the WestJet Airlines: Steve Smith, President and CEO. From the Air Line Pilots Association, International: Robert Weeks, President, Canada Board; Michael Alexandre, Master Executive Chairman, Air Transat; Bruce McConchie, Former MEC Chairman, Canadian Airlines; Pierre Orlak, Chairman, Master Executive Council, Canadian Regional Airlines. From the Canadian Union of Public Employees (Airline Division): Terry Twentyman, Canadian Component President; Denis Montpetit, Canadian Component Vice-President; Sheena Murdoch, Canadian Component Secretary-Treasurer; Tom Slade, CUPE National Representative. From the Canadian Auto Workers Union: Dr. Jim Stanford, Economist, Research Department; Gary Fane, Director of Transportation; Berni Viczko, Chairperson, Canadian Regional Airlines; Paul Flegal, International Communications Coordinator.

Pursuant to an Order of Reference of the House dated, March 31, 2000, consideration of Bill C-26, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act, the Competition Act, the Competition Tribunal Act and the Air Canada Public Participation Act and to amend another Act in consequence.

Malcolm Freeman and Robert Russell made opening statements and answered questions.

Steve Smith made an opening statement and answered questions.

Captain Robert Weeks made an opening statement and, with Michael Alexandre, Captain Piero Orlak and Captain Bruce McConchie, answered questions.

At 5:34 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 6:39 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting resumed.

On motion of Michel Guimond, it was unanimously agreed,--That the Committee meet again in six months’ time and once again summon the management of Aéroports de Montréal to appear before it, so that the Committee can be updated on that organization’s administration and assess the measures taken to correct the problems with labour relations, transparency and ethics raised during the Committee’s meeting of April 11.

On motion of Val Meredith, it was unanimously agreed,-- That, pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the committee hold meetings to consider and report on the 2000-01 Main Estimates for the Department of Transport;

That the Committee invite the Minister and senior officials to appear before the Committee no later than May 31, 2000; that the Minister provide information relating to the future expenditure plans and priorities of the Department; especially those related to grants and contributions; and that, pursuant to Standing Order 81 (7&8), the committee consider and report recommendations on the future expenditure plans and priorities of the Department no later than June 3, 2000.

Terry Twentyman, Denis Montpetit, Sheena Murdoch made opening statements and, with Tom Slade, answered questions.

Gary Fane and Tom Freeman made opening statements and, with Jim Stanford and Paul Flegal, answered questions.

At 8:56 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee