Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 50

Tuesday, May 2, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 9:06 a.m. this day, in Room 705, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Bill Casey, Bev Desjarlais, Stan Dromisky, Claude Drouin, Joe Fontana, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Val Meredith, Lou Sekora.

Acting Member present: Stéphan Tremblay for Gérard Asselin.

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witness: From the Air Nova, Air Ontario, Air B.C.: Joseph D. Randell, President and CEO. From the "Régionnair": Dean Tuggey, Manager of Operations. From the Skyservice Inc.: L. Russell Payson, President; Richard Look, Special Assistant to the President. From the First Air: Robert (Bob) Davis, President and CEO. From the Air Alma: Jacques Simard, President, . David-André Perez, Consultant, Civil Aviation Solutions.


Pursuant to an Order of Reference of the House dated, March 31, 2000, consideration of Bill C-26, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act, the Competition Act, the Competition Tribunal Act and the Air Canada Public Participation Act and to amend another Act in consequence.

Joe Randell made an opening statement and answered questions.

Dean Tuggey made an opening statement and answered questions.

Russell Payson made an opening statement and answered questions.

Robert Davis made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 11:55 a.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 12:17 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was resumed.

Jacques Simard made an opening statement and, with David-André Perez, answered questions.

At 12:47 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee