Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 48

Thursday, April 13, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 9:04 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Gérard Asselin, Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Claude Drouin, Michel Guimond, Stan Keyes, Val Meredith.

Other Member present: Dan McTeague

In attendance: From the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Professional Sales Association: Terry Ruffel, President. From the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers in Canada: Dave Ritchie, Canadian Vice-President; Ron Fontaine, President, Airline District. From the Canadian Bar Association: Tim Kennish, Vice-Chair (Policy), National Competition Law Section; Joan Bercovitch, Senior Director, Legal and Governmental Affairs.

Pursuant to an Order of Reference of the House dated, March 31, 2000, consideration of Bill C-26, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act, the Competition Act, the Competition Tribunal Act and the Air Canada Public Participation Act and to amend another Act in consequence.

Terry Ruffel made an opening statement and answered questions.

Both Ron Fontaine and Dave Ritchie made opening statements and answered questions.

At 10:16 a.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 10:24 a.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was resumed.

Tim Kennish made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 11:16 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee