Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 42

Tuesday, April 4, 2000

The Standing Committee on Transport met at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Gérard Asselin, Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Bill Casey, Joe Comuzzi, Bev Desjarlais, Stan Dromisky, Claude Drouin, Joe Fontana, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Dale Johnston, Stan Keyes, Val Meredith, Lou Sekora.

Associate Member present: Guy St-Julien.

In attendance: From theParliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Appearing: From Transport Canada: David Collenette, Minister.

Witnesses: From Transport Canada: Margaret Bloodworth, Deputy Minister; Valérie Dufour, Director General, Air Policy and Programs; Jacques E. Pigeon, General Counsel, Legal Services.

Pursuant to an Order of Reference of the House dated, March 31, 2000, consideration of Bill C-26, An Act to amend the Canada Transportation Act, the Competition Act, the Competition Tribunal Act and the Air Canada Public Participation Act and to amend another Act in consequence.

The Honourable David Collenette made an opening statement and, with Margaret Bloodworth, Valerie Dufour and Jacques Pigeon, answered questions.

At 5:48 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges


Clerk of the Committee