Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 19

Tuesday, November 16, 1999

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 9:05 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Roy Bailey, Bill Casey, Joe Comuzzi, Bev Desjarlais, Stan Dromisky, Joe Fontana, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Ovid Jackson, Dale Johnston, Stan Keyes, Val Meredith, Lou Sekora.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Airports Council: R. Neil Raynor, Executive Director; Murray Sigler, Chair and President & CEO, Winnipeg Airport Authority; J.A. (Sandy) Hopkins, Chairman, Winnipeg Airport Authority. From the Regional Airlines Holdings Inc.: Robert J. Deluce, President & CEO; André Lizotte, Executive Vice-President; Gordon Thompson, Director, Newcourt Capital.

 Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed consideration of its study on the future of the airline industry in Canada.

R. Neil Raynor made an opening statement and, with Murrau Sigler and J.A. Hopkins, answered questions.

At 10:36 a.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 10:45 a.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was resumed.

Robert J. Deluce made an opening statement and, with André Lizotte and Gordon Thompson, answered questions.

At 12:24 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee