Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 18

Monday, November 15, 1999

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 6:01 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Joe Comuzzi (to 7:11 p.m.), Bev Desjarlais, Stan Dromisky, Joe Fontana, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Ovid Jackson, Stan Keyes, Val Meredith, Lou Sekora.

Acting Member present: Carolyn Parrish for Joe Comuzzi.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher, Researcher.

Witnesses: From the Air Canada Pilots Association: Joseph Oakley, President; Capt Steve Babb Chair, Government Affairs. From the Air Line Pilots Association: Michael Lynch, President, Canada Board, Air Line Pilots Association (International); Capt Bruce McConchie, Chairman, Master Executive Council, Canadian Airlines; Capt Steve Linthwaite, Chairman, Master Executive Council, Air Ontario; Capt Gordon R. Andrews, Master Executive Council, Canada 3000.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed consideration of its study on the future of the airline industry in Canada.

Captain Joseph Oakley made an opening statement and, with Captain Steve Babb, answered questions.

At 7:35 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 7:43 p.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was resumed.

Michael Lynch, Captain Bruce McConchie made opening statements and, with Captain Steve Linthwaite and Gordon Andrews, answered questions.

It was unanimously agreed that Mr. Robert Milton and Kevin Benson be invited to appear before the Committee on Tuesday, November 23, 1999.

At 8:59 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee