Skip to main content Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 12

Tuesday, November 2, 1999

The Standing Committee on Transport met in a televised session at 9:04 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Stan Keyes, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Gérard Asselin, Roy Bailey, Murray Calder, Bill Casey, Bev Desjarlais, Stan Dromisky, Michel Guimond, Charles Hubbard, Ovid Jackson, Dale Johnston, Stan Keyes, Lou Sekora.

Acting Members present: Carolyn Bennett for Joe Fontana; Joseph Volpe for Joe Comuzzi until 9:40 a.m.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch of the Library of Parliament: John Christopher; June Dewetering, Researchers.

Witnesses: As Individual: Prof. Douglas A. Reid, School of Business, Queen's University; Richard Janda, Law Faculty, McGill University.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed consideration of its study on the future of the airline industry in Canada.

Professor Douglas Reid made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 10:27 a.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was suspended.

At 10:35 a.m., by unanimous consent, the sitting was resumed.

Richard Janda made an opening statement and answered questions.

By unanimous consent, it was agreed to distribute a document in English provided by Mr. Casey.

The French translation to follow later in the day.

At 11:28 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Guyanne L. Desforges

Clerk of the Committee