Skip to main content Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 58

Tuesday, June 13, 2000

The Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights met at 9:36 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Andy Scott, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Michel Bellehumeur, Carolyn Bennett, Chuck Cadman, Paul DeVillers, Ivan Grose, John Maloney, Jacques Saada and Andy Scott.

Acting Members present: Réal Ménard for Pierrette Venne and Chuck Strahl for Jim Abbott.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Marilyn Pilon, Researcher; Philip Rosen, Senior Analyst.

Witnesses: From the Department of Health: David Hoe, Policy Advisor, HIV Aids Policy Coordination and programs Division; Dr. Ron St. John, Director-Senior Advisor to the DGLCDC, Office of Special Health Initiative. From the Department of Justice: Yvan Roy, Senior General Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section; Patricia Dunberry, Legal Counsel; Peter Sankoff, Counsel, Human Rights Law Section.

Pursuant to its Order of Reference of Tuesday, March 21, 2000, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-244, An Act to provide for the taking of samples of blood for the benefit of persons administering and enforcing the law and good Samaritans and to amend the Criminal Code (See Minutes of Proceedings, Thursday, April 6, 2000 , Meeting No. 43).


The witnesses made opening statements and answered questions.

At 11:24 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.



Roger Préfontaine

Clerk of the Committee