Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 84

Thursday, October 5, 2000

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 10:08 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Maurizio Bevilacqua, Nick Discepola, Albina Guarnieri, Pauline Picard and Gary Pillitteri.

Acting Members present: Pat O’Brien for Sophia Leung, Bernard Patry for Sue Barnes, John Herron for Rick Borotsik and Antoine Dubé for Pauline Picard.

In attendance: From the Legislative Services: Susan Baldwin, Legislative Clerk. From the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart and Jean Soucy, Researchers. From Committees Directorate: Catherine Barrette. Procedural Clerk.

The Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-213, An Act to promote shipbuilding, 1999 (See Minutes of Proceedings, Wednesday, May 31, 2000, Meeting No. 74).

Pursuant to Standing Order 75(1), consideration of Clause 1 is postponed.

Clause 2 carried.

Clause 3 carried.

Clause 4 carried.

Clause 5 carried.

The Title carried.

The Bill carried.

ORDERED, -- That the Chair report Bill C-213, An Act to promote shipbuilding, 1999, without amendments, to the House, as the Tenth Report of the Committee.

Yvan Loubier moved – That, given the vital importance of this Bill for the future of shipyards in Canada and the thousands of people working in this sector, the Finance Committee suggest to the Government that it accelerate the legislative stages of this Bill.

Debate arose thereon.

And the question being put on the motion it was negatived on the following division:


Antoine Dubé

John Herron

Jim Jones

Yvan Loubier – 4




Carolyn Bennett

Roy Cullen

Nick Discepola

Albina Guarnieri

Pat O’Brien

Gary Pillitteri – 6

At 10:43 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Pat Steenberg

Clerk of the Committee